Home > Uncategorized > The Call of Christ- March 31, Wednesday of Holy Week

The Call of Christ- March 31, Wednesday of Holy Week

John 12:20-36 TNIV

Now there were some Greeks among those who went up to worship at the Festival. They came to Philip, who was from Bethsaida in Galilee, with a request. “Sir,” they said, “we would like to see Jesus.” Philip went to tell Andrew; Andrew and Philip in turn told Jesus.

Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. Those who love their life will lose it, while those who hate their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

“Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name!”

Then a voice came from heaven, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.” The crowd that was there and heard it said it had thundered; others said an angel had spoken to him.

Jesus said, “This voice was for your benefit, not mine. Now is the time for judgment on this world; now the prince of this world will be driven out. And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” He said this to show the kind of death he was going to die.

The crowd spoke up, “We have heard from the Law that the Messiah will remain forever, so how can you say, ‘The Son of Man must be lifted up’? Who is this ‘Son of Man’?”

Then Jesus told them, “You are going to have the light just a little while longer. Walk while you have the light, before darkness overtakes you. Those who walk in the dark do not know where they are going. Put your trust in the light while you have the light, so that you may become children of light.” When he had finished speaking, Jesus left and hid himself from them.

“Those who love their life will lose it, while those who hate their life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” (John 12)

“For whoever wants to save their life will lose it, but whoever loses their life for me will save it.” (Luke 9)

“whoever does not take up the cross and follow me is not worthy of me.  Those who find their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it.” (Matthew 10)

These are some of the tough sayings of Jesus that we have meditated on through this Lenten journey.  We’ve read, thought and prayed about dying to ourselves so that Christ might richly dwell within us.  We’ve tried to realize during this Lenten season that the Christian life isn’t about us and our self-will, it isn’t about getting more stuff and making a name for ourselves, it isn’t about building ourselves up.  Life, for the follower of Jesus Christ is about carrying the cross and following Christ.  It’s about humility, love, self-sacrifice, and obedience to the Gospel.

I often wonder about how we approach this calling of Jesus to ultimate self-sacrifice.  Even though we don’t actively think it, we often view these thoughts as perfectly well and good as long as they just stay as thoughts.  As long as we don’t think too hard or consider too concretely what these thoughts mean for us we’re fine with them.  Jesus, however, didn’t have this luxury and neither do we when we examine these scriptures in light of the events of the coming days.

Over the next few days we will meditate and think deeply on Jesus’ death.  We will remember that he was betrayed, unjustly accused, beaten, and crucified.  This is what our Savior went through, this is the reality out of which he calls to us “Those who love their life will lose it, while those who hate their life in this world will keep it for eternal life.” and “take up your cross and follow me.”

Out of this we are forced to reconcile our lives with the call of Christ.  Are we loving our lives and forsaking Christ?  Are we truly carrying our cross – the cross of Christ that we may die to self and truly live?  Are we truly following Jesus?

There is no room for “maybe” or “a little bit.”  The call of Christ is not maybe, it is either life or death and the only way to true life is through death.  The paradox is great, but our God is greater still.

Let us remember Jesus’ call to us over the next few days.  Let us journey to the cross with him that we may truly die to ourselves so that we might live.  May God grant us strength and may his name be glorified as we take up our cross and follow Christ.

Closing Prayer:

O Lord and master of my life, take from me the spirit of sloth, despair, lust of power, and idle talk.  But give rather the spirit of chastity, humility, patience, and love to Thy servant.  O Lord and King, grant me to see my own transgressions, and not to judge my brother or sister for blessed are you always.  Amen

– The Lenten Prayer of St. Ephrem

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment